Wyoming council appoints fifth member

The Wyoming Council Chambers was packed Jan. 3. By the time the meeting began, there was standing room only. After the Pledge of Allegiance, City Clerk Robb Linwood swore in Councilwoman Linda Nanko-Yeager and Councilman Joe Zerwas, who won their re-election campaigns, and new Mayor Lisa Iverson. The election of Iverson to the mayor left her council seat open. At the start of the meeting, there were only four council members.
After completing the various business for the first meeting of the year, including setting meeting dates, appointing commission seats and other decisions, the council needed to appoint its fifth member.broadstreet.zone(48036);
“We owe it to residents to fill it quickly,” Councilwoman Claire Luger said. “I would advocate to appoint who came in third. That was the people’s vote.”
Zerwas concurred.
Yeager agreed that a new member should be appointed immediately but disagreed that it should be the third-place council candidate, former Councilman Roger Elmore.

See Full Post >>