Inala State School to Trial the Free Pre-Kindy Learning Program in 2020

Inala State School is among the pilot QLD state schools to trial the free pre-kindy learning program for three-year-old children when it launches in 2020.

The $2.2-million KindyLinQ pilot program will be trialed across the state, Education Minister Grace Grace has announced, with an initial twenty five schools to trial the 12-month program in 2020 and an additional 15 schools to follow later that school year.

“For many, Kindy can initially be a daunting step-up and we want all our children to get a great start,” Ms Grace said.

“This 12-month, specially designed program will really help some of our very young Queenslanders develop the essential basic skills needed and get ready for school.

“KindyLinQ will act as a soft entry to kindy, encouraging parents and caregivers to actively participate in these play-based learning sessions with their child. 

“We want families to access this fantastic program to build their confidence as their child’s first teacher and giving them vital tips that they can use at home.”

To deliver the program are the school principal, a qualified teacher and early years support coordinator. KindyLinQ sessions will be for at least six hours a week, which will include activities such as indoor and outdoor play, shared storytelling, music and rhymes.

The trial will be offered for free to families coming from the pilot locations. Parents may contact the school to know more about the program.

Apart from Inala State School, the following are the first batch of pilot state schools for the KindyLinQ:

  1. Beaudesert State School                  
  2. Camira SS                                       
  3. Carole Park SS                                
  4. Coolnwynpin SS                              
  5. Dunwich SS                                     
  6. Goodna SS                                                                               
  7. Kawungan SS                                   
  8. Kingston SS                                     
  9. Macleay Island SS                           
  10. Minimbah SS                                   
  11. Weir SS                                          
  12. Yarrilee SS
  13. Pialba SS
  14. Pimpama State Primary College
  15. Rainbow Beach SS
  16. Richlands East SS
  17. Rasmussen SS
  18. Runcorn Heights SS
  19. Russell Island SS
  20. Sandy Strait SS
  21. Silkstone SS
  22. Torquay SS
  23. Urangan Point SS
  24. Yarrabilba SS